Opera Projects

Blarvuster has served as the “pit orchestra” for many of Welch’s tour-ready operas.

And Here We Are (2014-2018)

AHWA Postcard Front V3.jpg

On May 6 2018, Experiments in Opera premiered And Here We Are, the new shadow puppet opera from co-founder Matthew Welch, with libretto by Daniel Neer.  This 90-minute work for 4 vocal soloists and mixed ensemble will be staged using an updated take on traditional Javanese shadow puppetry and will feature Welch’s long-time ensemble Blarvuster with Mantra Percussion.  And Here We Are is based on the memoirs of Matthew’s great uncle Edgar, and is being developed with director and designer Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew.

AHWA Press Shot 5

AHWA Screen Image 38

AHWA Elyse and Daniel (Photo by Aaron Siegel)

Elyse Kakacek, soprano
Kate Maroneymezzo-soprano
Daniel Neerbaritone
Joe Chappel, bass
Ben Holmestrumpet
Joe Bergenpercussion
Chris Graham, percussion
Mark Utley, percussion
Emily Manzopiano
Ian Riggsbass guitar
Joe Tuckerdrums 
Matthew Welchconductor

Assistant Direction and Design: Tomas Del Valle
Puppeteers: Emma Wiseman, Meghan Williams, Maria Cama, Justin Perkins, Leah Ogawa
Video Design and Programming: Chris Carcione
Toy Theater of Town Hall built by: Eric (Jiaying) Zhang
Additional Design Edits: Tom Lee

And Here We Are – A Shadow Puppetry Opera by Matthew Welch (2018). from Matthew Welch on Vimeo.


Barbarella (2014)

Barbarella – an opera film trailer for mezzo-soprano, narrator, electronics and video. An opera as film trailer modeled on the 1968 film Barbarella. 3 minutes.


ReAnimator Requiem (2013) 

ReAnimator Requiem– for choir (ssaattbb), electric guitar, bass guitar and drums (Blarvuster), 30 minutes, one act.



The Three Truths (2012)

The Three Truths, a Robot Micro-Opera, 8 minutes. Anne Rhodes and Jeffrey Gavett soloists, Paolo Bortolameolli conducting.



Borges and the Other (2007-2012)

Borges and the Other is scored for 4 solo singers (2 mezzo-sopranos, tenor and baritone) and SATB chorus, and an expanded version of Blarvuster as the orchestra, and can be performed as an 85 minute 2-Act opera or 3 separable sub-acts each roughly 25-30 minutes.

The opera is about the Argentine fiction writer Jorge Luis Borges, with text adapted and inspired by Borges. The Opera centers on Borges meeting himself in a dream, and through inquisitive dialogue, it becomes a surreal look at the self. The Chorus functions like a Greek chorus with contemplative text. All of the singers and choristers represent Borges as an idea and image. Produced by Experiments in Opera and premiered at Roulette, NYC, May 2012.